

North Dakota Association of Assessing Officers, Inc.

Call to Order:

The annual meeting of the North Dakota Association of Assessing Officers convened at 9:30 am on Monday, August 12, 2019 at the Radisson in Bismarck, ND.

Members Present:

<u> Members Present:</u>				
Allison Jensen	Amber Gudajtes	Amber Hoheisel	Becki Freund	Ben Gate
Ben Hushka	Bob Lehn	Brandy Zepp	Brenda Johnson	Carla Broadland
Casey Patzner	Chad Waruer	Cheryl Whitty	Corey Genter	Cyndi Zueger
Damon Druse	Darcy Anderson	David Lunde	Dean Pearson	Deb Kirschenheiter
Denise Olson	Diana Krause	Don Flaherty	Dorene Stroh	Dustin Bakken
Elizabeth Black	Hannah Collins	Heather Kippen	Holly Hutchison	Jackie Steinmetz
James Albrecht	Jamison Veil	Janell Walz	Jaret Thompson	Jason Wark
Jeff Mutchler	Joan Lorge	Jodi Freier	Joe Hirschfeld	Jon Nelson
Julie Straabe	Justine Thompson	Karen Evans	Katie Paulson	Kayla Knudson
Keith Tschetter	Kevin Ternes	Kim Markley	Kristi Trottier	Kristie Reinke
Lea Heiney	Leyla Dagly-Bass	Lila Teigen	Linda Morris	Lisa Atkinson
Lisa Wheels	Lori Hanson	Lynnette Fox	Michelle Linstad	Mikka Willits
Natalie Wandler	Nick Lee	Nicholas Metzigian	Nicole Carlson	Nolan Meidinger
Noreen Barton	Patricia Smith	Paul Fracassi	Randy Thompson	Rita Olson
Robert Harshberger	Rory Porth	Ross Dettmann	Rownea Gerbracht	Ryan Ehli
Ryan Oberg	Sandy Fossum	Sarah Ohlauser	Shane Marcuson	Stacey Swanson
Stephanie Bata	Tami Lazur	Taylor Kippen	Teresa Ash	Teresa Haecherl
Todd Schreiner	Tracy Deforest	Trisha Laine	Tyler Perleberg	Wayne Ham
Wendy Belgarde				

Introductions:

President Gerving opened the business meeting by introducing the executive board:

President: Henry Gerving, Golden Valley County
Vice President: Amber Gudajtes, Grand Forks County
Past President: Paul Houdek, City of Grand Forks
Sec / Treasurer: Carla Broadland, City of Wahpeton
Member-at-Large: Brenda Johnson, City of Bismarck

Attendees introduced themselves along with the jurisdiction they serve.

Minutes:

Minutes of the 2018 annual meeting held on August 13, 2018, were provided to each member at registration. The minutes were reviewed by the members. Sandy Fossum made a motion to approve the minutes; seconded by Nick Lee; motion carried.

<u>Treasurer's Report / Audit:</u>

Joe Hirschfeld reported for the Auditing Committee. Joe Hirschfeld along with Katie Paulson completed the annual audit of the financial records. The financial records were complete. The Annual Financial Report is on file with the Treasurer. Joe Hirschfeld made a motion to accept the Auditor's report; seconded by Becki Freund; motion carried.

Broadland reviewed income and expense from July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2019 with an ending checking account balance of \$29,943.17 along with a Certificate of Deposit of \$13,120.36; Total Assets as of June 30, 2019: \$43,063.53. Broadland stated that the only major difference was that the Winter Workshop was cancelled due to weather so the association saw no expense for that. Discussion followed in reference to how weather across the state differs and decision to cancel the workshop.

Motion by Dean Pearson to approve the treasurer's report, seconded by Lori Hanson, motion carried.

NDACo Delegate & Directors

Delegates to NDACo are currently Lisa Atkinson & Lori Hanson. Lisa will be retiring in 19 days and the Director position is open with Linda Morris now working with the State Tax Department. Gerving stated that Lori had agreed to move to the Directors position and that Paul and Don had both stated they would be interested in serving as delegates. Motion by Janell Walz to appoint Lori Hanson to the Director position and Don Flaherty and Paul Fracassi Delegates; seconded by Tami Lazur; motion carried

Report of Regular Committees:

Executive Committee: President Gerving thanked the members of the committee for their time and effort. Discussion followed in reference to the location of the annual meeting.

Membership Committee: Lori Hanson, Membership Chairman, recognized members who have reached milestone years with our organization. The membership committee presents certificates for members who have 5-10-15-20 or more in 5 year increments. She presented certificates to the following members:

Thirty Five Years: None Thirty Years: None Twenty Five Years: None

Twenty Years: Druse Damon, Paul Houdek

Fifteen Years: Robert Ehler, Sandy Fossum, Robert Harshberger, Elizabeth Roorda,

Shelley Smette, Stacey Swanson, Jason Wark

Ten Years: Don Flaherty, Todd Schreiner

Five Years: David Arntson, Wendy Belgarde, James Haley, Lea Heiney, Ryan

Kamrowski, Dan Lovelace, Shawna Page, Katie Paulson, Susan

Spaeth, Tim Ward

Life Memberships: Lori stated that she has received one nomination for lifetime membership, Muriel Ulrich, serving Grant County for 35 years, the nominee will be submitted to the Executive Board for Confirmation.

Legislative Committee: No report.

Education Committee: Sandy Fossum, Chairman of the Education Committee, stated that the schedule for education has been changed as we are currently only offering one class at a time due to attendance. Sandy asked that members share any requests they may have for further education with any member of the committee including, Stacey Swanson, Tami Lazur, Janell Walz, Joe Hirshfeld, Shelli Idyle, Paul Fracassi or herself.

Web Maintenance/Technology Committee: Stacey reported our webpage has a "Form Page" which requires a password that is case sensitive and that is: ndaao2009 (no space).

Reports by Region:

Gerving asked if any region had a report they would like to share. No reports were offered.

Unfinished or Old Business:

None

New Business:

None

Election of Officers for 2019-2021:

Linda Morris serving the Nominating Committee, submitted the following names as nominations for the executive board: Amber Gudajtes, President ~ Ryan Kamrowski, Vice President ~ Carla Broadland, Secretary / Treasurer. President Gerving asked for nominations from the floor. There being no nominations from the floor, Joe Hirschfeld moved and Lori Hanson seconded that nominations cease and that a unanimous vote be cast for the nominees; motion carried.

Recognition:

Amber Gudajtes presented out-going president Henry Gerving with a thank-you gift from the NDAAO members for everything that Henry did for the organization during his term as president.

There being no further business President Gudajtes adjourned the meeting.

Respectively submitted, Carla Broadland Secretary/Treasurer